Authors are People | Ken Mooney & a Chance to Get His Debut- Godhead- FREE

So far, I’ve showcased two of my favourite Indie authors- Claire C Riley and Jack Wallen. Want to meet my third absolute favourite? Of course you do!

 

Ken Mooney

The self-proclaimed not-so-people person who just happens to be a people person

(despite his assertions otherwise).

Image

Gosh, how did I meet Ken? I’m thinking Claire might have introduced us… did you Claire? Or did Ken and I meet some other way? I feel a bit badly that I can’t remember. The important thing to remember here though is that we did meet and I quickly became enamoured of the talented, humble man who is as parentally-protective of his writing as I am about my own.

 

“Your beloved and your friends were once strangers. Somehow at a particular time, they came from the distance toward your life. Their arrival seemed so accidental and contingent. Now your life is unimaginable without them. Similarly, your identity and vision are composed of a certain constellation of ideas and feelings that surfaced from the depths of the distance within you. To lose these now would be to lose yourself.” ― John O’Donohue, Anam Cara: A Book of Celtic Wisdom

 

Just like Claire and just like Jack, once Ken and I were strangers, but somehow, at some time, we crossed a distance and became part of each other’s lives. We share a constellation of ideas and feelings, a solar system that belongs to the creative mind, and I cannot imagine my body without the constants of them as sun, planets and moons. Ken has a centre onto himself; we each do, making us individual systems within a larger system. He creates worlds, as we all do, and he protects them.

 

I think that’s why we bonded originally. He has a deep-seeded love for the characters he creates- a love that’s quickly understood when you converse with him about plot elements in Godhead. He’s more than willing to discuss the story from different angles, but conversation always leads back to his personal feelings toward the story. Isn’t that how it should be? Sure, art is in the eye of the beholder and we readers look at things how are preconceptions dictate (see my last interview with Jack Wallen), but at the same time, shouldn’t the authors hold steady to the ‘whys’ in our head that crafted our story? The muses in our minds, so to speak.

 

And that’s what Ken must have sitting on his shoulder- a real life, honest-to-goodness muse, straight out of mythological text. An ethereal, statue of a man with chiselled features and a six pack framed by a sweeping loin cloth, hanging out on Mr. Mooney’s shoulder whispering sweet nothings. Because surely it can’t be Ken’s own imagination that weaved such a tale as Godhead? | Godhead |

 

Over the course of our relationship, I’ve found Ken to be a personable, caring guy- truly a friend to call when you are in need. Someone to not ask questions, but just help with the body you’ve got covered with a holey tarp in your garage. Ken will always offer a kind word and simply accept who his friends are as people. Those acts of openness and kindness lead me to believe that Ken honestly treats folks the way he desires to be treated, and that’s an unexpected quality in a person in the world we live in.

 

And of course, as with Claire & Jack, here come some fun facts about Ken Mooney!

 

Curious about the quirks of Ken’s persona? Well, I was too. What I do is ask authors to provide me with a list of facts they think are interesting about themselves, facts that they maybe haven’t shared before with the general public. So, here goes-

 

My favourite Irishman,

Ken Mooney, tells all (well, not all, but quite a bit)

 

  • Born 1985 in Dublin, always lived there. Wait, here…
  • Lives with partner Dan. Technically, he’s my fiancé, but since that sort of thing isn’t legal in Ireland yet, it feels like false advertising.
  • Speaking of advertising, that’s my industry. My day-job is in TV advertising, working for the broadcaster on the legal/efficiency side of things. It’s a pretty big company, in that the biggest shareholder is a well-known media mogul.
  • I’m an only child. But I’m not actually that bad at sharing. Just interacting with people.
  • I joke about things that aren’t always funny…
  • Studied English Studies at Trinity College Dublin. College applications here in Ireland are done on the basis of how you do in your final exams in school. In this case, I scraped in by the skin of my teeth on the third round of offers. Mind you, it might have helped if I actually applied myself in school. My first college offer was a three-year journalism course. I would not have enjoyed it. English was actually my fifth choice, since I actually wanted to do English with either Psychology, Philosophy or Classics. I got more out of doing just English though.
  • Sticking with college, my undergraduate thesis was on vampire fiction and their changing relationships with humanity, shifting from enemies to friends, all with a  focus on Richard Matheson’s I Am Legend. I wish I could go back in time and rewrite it.
  • I have three tattoos on my left arm, all of which mean something “writerly” to me: one is from my favourite book (the WASTE symbol from Thomas Pynchon’s “The Crying Of Lot 49”), one is from my favourite album (the ‘Art is Resistance’ flag from Nine Inch Nails’ “Year Zero”) and the last is an alchemic symbol for Zeus.
  • I really dislike wearing long sleeves, so the Zeus tattoo is pretty much always visible.
  • Book-related facts: some of the characters in Godhead have been fully-formed in my head for about fifteen years. They were always around my age throughout the writing period.
  • Godhead itself has some autobiographical elements: there’s a bereavement early in the book and that scene was written as a way of dealing with my own emotions about a bereavement in similar circumstances. It was surprisingly therapeutic.
  • I like to look up words and the meanings of words, and then I get really interested in certain things, and then I get excited about building a story around that.
  • I really want to write sci-fi, but don’t have the balls to follow through on the science element. Or making myself sound convincing with it.
  • My next book is non-fiction, The Little Book of The End Of The World. I didn’t think I’d be able to do it…turns out I enjoyed it just as much as writing fiction.
  • I really like genre movies and TV shows, but I have a very low BS-tolerance level. The second something starts pandering, I’ll drop it. But words can barely describe my love for Arrow, Sleepy Hollow and Lost.
  • There is no finer thing in life than bacon, chicken, cheese and just a teeny bit of ketchup. Ideally, served on top of carbs.
  • An incredibly wise friend of mine once said that she doesn’t trust people who don’t make faces when they’re eating. I have never heard a greater truth.
  • I prefer city-breaks to holidays in the sun. I was incredibly disappointed in Rome and Amsterdam, which totally didn’t live up to expectation. But I’d move to London, New York or Madrid in a heartbeat.
  • I have the weirdest taste in books ever, and love a flawed, messed up protagonist. See: Oscar Wilde, Chuck Palahniuk, Bret Easton-Ellis.
  • 90% of my writing comes with a soundtrack. Music is a big part of my process, and entire scenes are built around a song that might be playing over a sound-system, as if the scene is part of a movie.
  • I’d prefer to be a fraction too cold than too warm.
  • I can’t drive (it’s not that big a deal in Dublin. Traffic is terrible, parking is terrible, and the public transport isn’t as bad as we’re legally obliged to give out about it being.)

Thank you so much for sharing, Ken. I’m blessed to know you and call you friend.

 

Purchase Godhead: Amazon.com | Amazon.co.uk

Praise for Godhead (Amazon.com Review):

“Imagine what would happen in a mash-up of The X-Men, Percy Jackson, and Nicholas Flamel, with a dash of Homer just for the fun of it. Ken Mooney’s intelligent and action-packed adult novel starts with the destruction of Olympus, the home of the ancient gods; brings a vengeful Aphrodite, accompanied by blood-thirsty demons, into the 21st century; and then sets her against the descendants of those same gods. Aphrodite must kill all the descendants before she can reclaim her home at Olympus. The result: mass murder, “collateral damage,” utter destruction — starting with a NYC nightclub and ending just days later with a good portion of Greece. It reminded me of Dr. Peter Venkman in Ghostbusters: “… a disaster of biblical proportions.”

Also by Ken Mooney: Little Book of the End of the World (TBR October 2014) & Please visit his site for short stories and release information! http://kenmooneybooks.com/

Follow Ken: Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

 

Ken- ‘I don’t interact well with people.’

Image

(Ken in Madrid- Photo above)

Me- ‘That’s bullcrap…’ =)

Image

(Rome after Ken shaved his head for cancer charity and raised 1500 euro)

 

** SALE **

NO, WAIT…

FREE *** FREE *** FREE

Tomorrow only- Godhead will be offered for FREE on Amazon sales channels- .com, .co.uk, etc. After this date (4.19.2014), Godhead will become available across a wide array of sales platforms such as Nook, Smashwords and more!

Image

Leave a Reply

